SAY WHAAT! COMEDIAN WANDA SYKES DIAGNOSED WITH BREAST CANCER; “I HAD BOTH REMOVED”

Man I had no idea that Wanda Sykes has been battling one of the biggest battle’s facing women today, breast cancer.  This goes to prove that just because someone is full of laughter, smiles & joy; you just never know what they could be really dealing with.

The hilarious comedian stated “I had breast cancer. Yeah, I know it’s scary.” while taping a segment on “The Ellen DeGeneres Show“, set to air Monday.   She also revealed she had both breast removed in order to save her life.  Here are a few excerpts.

On having a breast reduction in February 2011 & finding out the news:

“I had real big boobs and I just got tired of knocking over stuff. Every time I eat oh lord, I’d carry a Tide stick everywhere I go. My back was sore so it was time to have a reduction.

It wasn’t until after the reduction that in the lab work, the pathology, that they found that I had DCIS [ductal carcinoma in situ] in my left breast.  I was very, very lucky because DCIS is basically stage-zero cancer. So I was very lucky.”

On deciding to have both breast removed:

“I had the choice of, you can go back every three months and get it checked. Have a mammogram, MRI every three months just to see what it’s doing,” she explained. “But, I’m not good at keeping on top of stuff. I’m sure I’m overdue for an oil change and a teeth cleaning already.

I had both breasts removed, because now I have zero chance of having breast cancer.”

On opening up about her cancer:

“I was like, I don’t know, should I talk about it or what? How many things could I have? I’m black, then lesbian. I can’t be the poster child for everything.

At least with the LGBT issues we get a parade, we get a float, it’s a party. I was real hesitant about doing this, because I hate walking. I got a lot of [cancer] walks coming up.”

As you can see you just never know what life will deal your way.  The best part about this is that she’s stayed strong & continued to have a sense of humor amidst all the stress.

source – MSNBC

This entry was posted in SAY WHAAT! and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

